The Extinction of Affiliate Marketing Networks

With the upcoming of display advertising like real time bidding, the future of affiliate marketing networks doesn’t look that bright.
What’s real time bidding?
Wikipedia Quote: Real-time bidding (RTB) is a new method of selling and buying online display advertising in real time one ad impression at a time
 
Most affiliates work on a CPA/CPL base. For the advertisers this is a complete win situation. They only pay for what they get. 
There are still affiliates who work on a CPM/CPC base but these are only the big ones.
The revenue for the affiliates “in what I have heard” keeps decreasing.
 
If I was an affiliate I would already have switched to the real time bidding. In this way when I have a lots of visitors. I would still make a little bit of money and not hoping that in the end somebody will eventually click on the banner and make a lead or sale!
 
Don’t get me wrong, I love affiliate marketing especially as an advertiser. I only pay on CPA. So I don’t waste a lot of money on CPM/CPC for traffic that’s not relevant for me.
 
I see that there are a lot of affiliate platforms already investigating real time bidding to implement it. 
So I fear that my worry will become a fact in the upcoming months/years.
One thought on “The Extinction of Affiliate Marketing Networks”

Leave a Reply

